About editor

Seven Eleven was founded in 1987 by former bandmembers of the Savannah Fun Brigade. The first Seven Eleven recordings ‘Get the funk outta here’ and ‘Funk Instruction’ were released on cd in 1989. In 1990 the band teamed up with Dope Posse, a hiphop crew from the southern part of The Netherlands, and merged rappers and a funkband live on stage. A few years later the group refined their funk formula with a horn section. After winning the Camelpop award in 1993 Seven Eleven recorded their debut-album ‘The Come Out’ in Studio Le Roy in Amsterdam with New York guitarist and producer Menace (Madonna, Bill Laswell, P-Funk). Menace also joined Seven Eleven on stage. ‘The Come Out’ was released in 1996 and received outstanding acclaims in the media but strangely enough no mayor recordlabel showed any interest. In 1999 Seven Eleven played at the Uncut Funk Festival in Paris and at the first Funk to the Max party in the Melkweg in Amsterdam. In the same year the band started their own recordcompany. ‘Unfunky B.I.T.C.H. / Say P-Funk’ (1999) was the first single released on Seven Eleven Records. ‘Get ‘m down!’ (2000) was the first album-release on the label. Throughout the years the band’s energetic live reputation grew rapidly and soon they appeared on stages and festivals in Germany, Belgium, France, Switzerland, Austria, Spain, Italy and Lithuania. In 2001, 2002 and 2004 Seven Eleven played at the North Sea Jazz Festival. Seven Eleven’s best known album is ‘Hot ‘n’ funky’ (2003) and featured special guests Brainpower and Fred Wesley. The cd was released in Europe and in the USA in by JJ Tracks/Challenge Records. A few years later a hot live recording of the bands concert at La Fête de l’Humanité in 2004 appeared on cd in 2006 titled ‘Live in Paris’. In this decade Seven Eleven played and recorded with funk-related artists such as Fred Wesley (James Brown, Parliament), Mudbone Cooper (Parliament, Bootsy’s Rubber Band), Dawn Silva (Brides of Funkenstein), Jeanette Washington (Parliament/Funkadelic, Parlet), Mike ‘Moon’ Rueben (Bernie Worrell and the WOO Warriors) and Louis Johnson (Brothers Johnson). In 2012 Seven Eleven celebrated their 25th anniversary with the anthology ’25 years and still funkin”. A jubilee-tour was held in 2013 with concerts in The Netherlands, Belgium and France.

Get the funk outta here!

On Thursday April 6 Stingray Djazz presents two new live concerts on their TV-Channel. Watch funkband Seven Eleven at 21h00. Shortly after ten o’clock the combination Tristan & The Heavy Horns will close the evening with acid jazz with high-energy grooves!

Seven Eleven op Stingray Djazz TV

Seven Eleven nominated in 15th Annual Independent Music Awards

The track 7-1-1 (from our latest album ‘Back to the Source’) is nominated in the song category Funk/Fusion/Jam of the 15th Annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs), the influential awards program for independent artists and releases.

Nominated along with Seven Eleven is an eclectic mix of established artists and rising stars that includes: Macy Gray, Suzzy Roche and Lucy Wainwright Roche, Air Traffic Controller, Hackensaw Boys, All Hail The Yeti, Deep Dive Corp + Ingrid Chavez, Milli Janatková, The Alternate Routes, Le Bouef Brothers, Murashita, The Kricket, and Nive and the Deer Children. Fan-nominated artists in the Song and Video categories include: Monica Pasqual and The Handsome Brunettes, Ganda Boys, Mean Mary, Olivia Penalva and Juliette Reilly among others. Click here for a full list of The 15th annual IMA Categories and Nominees.

The 15th independent music awards nominees

The winning projects will be selected by blue-ribbon panels of top recording artists that include: Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan, Slayer, The Kills, Lalah Hathaway, Meshell Ndegeocello, Sepultura, Dido, Warren Haynes [Gov’t Mule], Suzanne Vega, Gus Unger-Hamilton [alt-J], Shelby Lynne; previous IMA Winners including:Amy Lee [Evanescence], The Show Ponies, Noshir Mody, Rozina Pátkai and Ingrid Gerdes, among many others; and influential press and talent buyers from the Americas, Europe and Pacific Rim.

Details and complete list of Nominees and Judges available at: IndependentMusicAwards.com

The 15th Independent Music Award Winners will be announced November 12th from Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City during a free, day long music festival showcasing exceptional IMA talent. Kicking off the event will be a ‘town-hall’ meeting where fans, bands and industry discuss new ways to keep independent arts alive and prospering.

Previous IMA Winners & Nominees include former major label acts including Jackson Browne, Pete Seeger and Martin Sexton; and cutting-edge rising stars including Flying Lotus, Amanda Palmer, Killer Mike, Lacuna Coil, Amy Lee, Passenger, Team Me, Radio Radio, RuPaul, And You Shall Know Us By The Trail of Dead…, Meghan Trainor, Lionel Loueke, Girl In A Coma, Apples in Stereo, Pokey LaFarge, Valerie June and many, many more.

Wham Bam! remixed by DJ Maestro

DJ Maestro, who previously produced the acclaimed series Blue Note Trips for jazz label Blue Note, created a catchy remix of the track Wham Bam! taken from the album ‘Back to the Source’. Wham Bam! That’s the new single of Seven Eleven. The beautiful artwork of Wham Bam! was made by MVE Music Productions.

Wham Bam! remixed by DJ Maestro will first be presented as free download through Soundcloud during the 21th edition of the Amsterdam Dance Event (ADE), both the radio-edit and the extended version. The ADE is the leading electronic music platform and the biggest club festival in the world for the whole spectrum of electronic sub-genres. The festival starts October 19 in Amsterdam and will last until Sunday October 23.

A few radio- and club dj’s already listened to the remix.

“Top !!!!!”
Gabriel & Castellon

“Great job by the maestro!”
DJ Gino Christiano

Robert Feelgood

DJ Joshua Walter (Jimmy Woo, Radio Decibel)

“Cool ones”
Tjerk Coers (Fresh FM)

Arjan Buis (Radio Spijkenisse)

Seven Eleven - Wham Bam (cover)

Seven Eleven winner Colorado Rock Award 2016

We are happy and honored to announce that Seven Eleven won The Rock Award 2016 of the State Colorado in the category Global Eye Performance. Due to our absence at the award-show in Denver Skip ‘The Funktologist’ Reeves accepted the award on our behalf. We thank all our fans and supporters who voted for us to be nominated in the first place, and all the members of the jury to make the right choice. A special thanks goes out to Rock Awards-initiator Rockin’ Raven for holding on to a dream and funkmaster Skip Reeves, both true ambassadors of the Colorado music scene. Now it’s about time to come over to do some shows.

Colorado Rock Awards 2016

Are MC blogs for his hometown Uden

This week Coen Grooten a.k.a. rapper Are MC blogs for his hometown Uden. At the age of 7 Coen started playing drums at the Music School Uden and at the Wiebert. Later, in the early 80s, he was seized by the Hip Hop virus. MC-ing became his thing. Inspired by RUN-DMC Coen and his friends for life founded the rap group Dope Posse, and after that The Family Jewels. Meanwhile Are MC is the energetic frontman and rapper of Seven Eleven for 25 years. Want to see Are MC live in action? Friday September 2nd Seven Eleven performs at De Pul in Uden (NL).

Are MC backstage at Le Trianon Paris © 2013 Nico Brons
Photography © Nico Brons

7-1-1 on Soundcloud

7-1-1 on Soundcloud. P-Funk in 3D from the flatlands, inspired by George Clinton & Parliament/Funkadelic. 7-1-1 was produced by Rob Manzoli (Right Said Fred) and appears on the Seven Eleven album ‘Back to the Source’. Artwork by MVE Music Productions.